Skip to main content

Chakra Energy Centers: The Sacral Chakra

  • Author:
  • Updated date:

Sandi is a Reiki Practitioner and EFT Tapping Coach. Reiki reduces stress and anxiety, assists with self-healing, and will change your life!

What is the sacral chakra?

What is the sacral chakra?

The Sacral Chakra Meaning and Functions

Svadhisthana, translated as "sweetness" is the Sanskrit name for the Sacral chakra which is located in the pelvis near the sacrum. It resonates with the color orange and its element is water. The sacral chakra's function is sexuality, sensuality, connection, pleasure, movement and change. It is also the seat of our emotions. This chakra is concerned with our physical well-being, therefore, we need to take care of our body by giving it proper nourishment, plenty of fluids, exercise, rest and enjoyment. If we feel deserving of what we have, we honor our body with not only what it needs but allow more pleasure into our life. The sacral chakra embodies our physical health, mobility and emotional well being so we must know our limitations and boundaries. Too much stress, illness or excess will deplete our vital energy, and every time we do something good for our body it will replenish our reserves. We need to understand what is enough. We need to make good choices about the food we eat, the way we exercise, what we expend on other people or situations that don't serve us well, as well as a lifestyle that does not compromise our physical and emotional health.

When this chakra is well-balanced, one is trusting, creative, content with what they have and self-confident. There is a healthy balance of spiritual awareness, self-discipline, exercise, joy and stress management.


  • Verb: I feel
  • Musical note: D
  • Mantra: Vam
  • Type of music: Latin dance
  • Sensory: Taste
  • Essential oils/ scents: Jasmine, rose, orange blossom, sandalwood, gardenia, damiana
  • Crystals: Carnelian, Citrine, Golden Topaz, Rutilated Quartz, Moonstone
  • Plant: Jasmine
  • Angelic presence: Archangel Metatron

Chakra Archetypes

Each chakra is associated with both positive and negative qualities that reflect strengths and weaknesses. The sacral chakra builds on the polarities of lack and taking personal responsibility expressed in the root chakra

The functional archetype of the sacral chakra is the Empress/Emperor who has a bountiful existence, lives in abundance and expects and enjoys the pleasures in life including sexual satisfaction. The Empress/Emperor knows there are adversities in life but sees the glass as half full as opposed to half empty. It's always darkest before the dawn, every cloud has a silver lining, Spring follows Winter.

The dysfunctional archetype is the Martyr. Martyrs live a life of lack and self-pity because they don't believe they are deserving of the joys or rewards in life, only the hardships and misery. They lack the motivation to change their negative beliefs. Lack of self-worth allows Martyrs to believe they should take care of others before they take care of themselves so they make what they consider to be sacrifices for others, perpetuating their life of misery and lack.

Scroll to Continue

Read More From Remedygrove

Physical and Emotional Dysfunctions

The sacral chakra is associated with the ovaries and testes. Aside from the reproductive glands, it is associated with the uterus, bladder, circulatory system and prostate. An overactive second chakra can manifest as emotional instability, sexual addiction, over fantasizing and manipulation. A blocked or sluggish sacral chakra can manifest as frigidity, impotence, over sensitivity, lower back pain, urinary problems, gynecological problems and self-degradation.

The reproductive glands are associated with our physical maturation, the relationship we have with our body and our spiritual awareness. As we mature, our attitude about growing up and taking responsibility for our sexuality, as well as having a family, is connected to the reproductive glands.

This chakra is concerned with pleasure and well-being and if these emotions are not felt frustration will build. With all the constraints and societal/religious messages related to sexuality and its expression, one can struggle with deprivation and eventual dis-ease. If we don't feel deserving of a good and abundant life and have enough of what we need, including pleasure, we will be miserable and experience depleted life force energy.

Sacral chakra affirmations

Sacral chakra affirmations

Balancing and Healing the Sacral Chakra

  • Reiki
  • Affirmations
  • Meditation: I highly recommend the Water meditation contained in Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith. During this meditation, the negative thoughts are washed away, a shower or envisioned waterfall allows the good thoughts and desires to be bestowed upon you and more!
  • Crystal healing: carnelian, tiger's eye, rutilated quartz, moonstone or calcite can be worn or placed on the body to energize and balance the sacral chakra
  • Sound healing
  • Yoga: Goddess Pose, Pelvic Rock
  • Exercises that involve touching, nurturing such as massage or sexual activity, long hot baths or swimming
  • Aromatherapy

This content is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and does not substitute for diagnosis, prognosis, treatment, prescription, and/or dietary advice from a licensed health professional. Drugs, supplements, and natural remedies may have dangerous side effects. If pregnant or nursing, consult with a qualified provider on an individual basis. Seek immediate help if you are experiencing a medical emergency.

© 2018 Sandi

Related Articles