Do Kalms Herbal Tablets Work? A User Review

Updated on August 16, 2018
Doc Wordinger profile image

Doc Wordinger lives and works in central Manchester. He has a fondness for golf, poker, fine literature, art and film.

Do Kalms Herbal Tablets Work For Anxiety and Stress?

In my ongoing battle with stress, anxiety and sleepless nights, I recently added a new weapon to my arsenal: Kalms herbal tablets. I was keen to find a natural remedy rather than resort to prescription drugs. Don't get me wrong, prescription medicine has its place. But I'm uncomfortable with the habit-forming nature and unpleasant side effects of manufactured medicine, largely because of my addictive personality and capacity for clinging to bad habits. You could say that the thought of a lifelong pill addiction makes me stressed and anxious. Far better to find a natural and holistic approach to tackling anxiety. If that doesn't work then there's plenty of time to get hooked on Valium or Xanax later. Besides, my doctor always seems reluctant to dish out the pills these days. The era of Mother's Little Helper is well and truly over.

Kalms were recommended to me by a sympathetic work colleague who claimed they aided the quality of her sleep. I immediately visited the nearest Holland and Barrett health shop and picked up a bottle of 200 tablets for £7.99. With renewed hope, I returned to Stress HQ (my office) with one question on my mind: Do Kalms herbal tablets work? Presumably that question is on your mind, too.

Do Kalms work? This user is unsure.
Do Kalms work? This user is unsure. | Source

Kalms: What's in them?

The makers of Kalms describe it as a "traditional natural plant remedy". There are three main ingredients.

  • Valerian - Valerian is a flowering plant native to Europe and Western Asia. It has been used for medicinal purposes for several thousand years. Today, it is commonly used as a nutritional supplement and as a natural treatment for mild insomnia, stress and tension. Many people drink it as a tea by adding boiling water to Valerian teabags. Give them a try but beware: Valerian teabags smell like an unwashed pair of very old running shoes.
  • Hops - The flowers of the hops plant are probably best known for the bitter flavor that they bring to a good pint of ale (and bad ones too). In my world, that alone elevates hops to Very Important Plant status. But like Valerian, hops can also be used as a herbal sedative.
  • Gentian - Another flowering plant with many medicinal uses including muscle spasms and high blood pressure. It is native to the alpine regions of Europe, America and Asia.

Gentian flower: A Kalms ingredient
Gentian flower: A Kalms ingredient | Source

Although I've read reviews on the internet that suggest Kalms has an instant effect, the manufacturers advise that it can take up to several weeks to work. The recommended dosage is two tablets, to be taken with meals, three times a day. Sticking to these guidelines, a £7.99 ($11) bottle will last just over a month.There's a few pills left in my bottle and I've been taking them for about five weeks now so obviously I've missed a few doses. I've been taking between four and six tablets a day.

So what's my verdict? Do Kalms work or not? For me, the results have so far been disappointing. The poor concentration, irrational worries, restlessness, depression, lack of motivation and tension around my chest - the symptoms of stress and anxiety that bother me the most - are still prevailing against my search for serenity. Other online Kalms reviews suggest that I'm not alone although some users have reported a positive experience.

My own experiment with Kalms has reinforced my belief that herbal treatments only yield subtle results, if they yield any results at all. Evidence suggests that they do work for some people, either alone or when supplementing increased exercise and a better diet. Furthermore, people suffer from varying degrees of anxiety. As the makers of Kalms boast on the front of the bottle, Kalms "relieves periods of worry, irritability, stresses and strains". This really suggests that Kalms are a treatment for mild symptoms of stress, a remedy for those of us who have fallen prey to a hectic lifestyle or a high-pressure job rather than a deep-seated anxiety disorder. Personally, I feel like I'm somewhere in between. Kalms are not enough; prescribed drugs are too much. That leaves exercise, nutrition, counseling, relaxation techniques and a multitude of strange and ancient therapies to try instead. It's a catch-22 situation because when your motivation levels are at rock bottom, who wants to go running or drag themselves to see a councilor? Pills are quick and easy.

There's also the question of whether I'm perceptive enough to notice any mild improvement in my mood. Some people are more tuned into their bodies than others, noticing the tiniest signs and changes in their anatomy. Maybe Kalms have worked for me without my realizing. If they have then it hasn't penetrated my awareness yet and that's not good enough for me.

So What's the Verdict?

As you might have guessed, I can't give you a conclusive answer as to whether Kalms are effective or not. All I know is, they don't work for me. But that's okay because there are hundreds of other natural alternatives to try, some of which I've listed later in the article.

Will Kalms work for you? At £7.99 (or around $11 in the US) it's definitely worth trying them to find out. They certainly aren't a placebo judging by the 500 reviews on Amazon.co.uk which generate an average of 4/5 stars. Of course, we all know that only a fool would place their faith in user feedback on Amazon but 200 reviews is a large sample and should be respected.

As noted in the text box above, Kalms contain three main ingredients - Valerian, Hops and Gentian. All three of these plants have been used for centuries for their calming effects but that doesn't mean they work for everybody. You should also be aware that not even Lanes, the manufacturers of Kalms, market them as a magical cure-all tonic. If you're suffering from moderate to severe anxiety, stress or depression, your first point of call should always be your doctor.

Source

Alternatives to Kalms

Do Kalms work? You'll need to try them yourself to find out. If not, don't panic, there are plenty of natural alternatives.

  • Exercise and Nutrition - Yes I know, you've heard it before. But it's always worth repeating: Regular exercise and a healthy diet are the cornerstone to a relaxed and happy life.
  • Meditation - Quieten your chattering mind and put your worries aside for a moment with a daily meditation practice. Scientific studies have demonstrated that meditation can play a vital role in combating anxiety.
  • Lifestyle Changes - Working too hard? Drinking too much? Not getting enough sleep? Sometimes a few simple alterations to your lifestyle are enough to lift your mood.
  • St John's Wort - This yellow flowering plant has been used for over two thousand years in the treatment of nerve disorders. Today many people take it for mild depression and anxiety. Although clinical trials have been far from conclusive, evidence suggests that it can help lift a low mood. Definitely worth trying but you should speak to your doctor first because it can interact with prescription medication.
  • Passionflower - A South American native, passionflower is widely used as a herbal sedative and is often mixed with other plants such as Valerian. Unlike Valerian, passionflower is not found in Kalms.

The calming sounds of the sea have always worked for me.

This article is for informational purposes only and should not replace health advice from a qualified medical practitioner.

Do Kalms Work For You?

Herbal wonder or useless sugar pill?

See results

Questions & Answers

    © 2014 Doc Wordinger

    If you have any questions or want to share your own experience with Kalms, please leave a comment.

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • ramonabeckbritman profile image

        Ramona 

        2 months ago from Arkansas

        Kalms work pretty good. I use them every now and then. Nice article by the way.

      • profile image

        Lisa davis 

        12 months ago

        Can kalms effect your INR

      • Doc Wordinger profile imageAUTHOR

        Doc Wordinger 

        2 years ago from Manchester, UK

        Hey bossin777, thanks for the suggestions.

      • bossin777 profile image

        Kayla Z 

        2 years ago from New England

        Hey I struggle with stress and anxiety too a couple of additional things to add (aside from a good long sanity walk and talk therapy)...taking magnesium tablets are good for anxiety (they have other health benefits as well). I've also started drinking an herbal tea called "tension tamer" its pretty soothing. :)

      • Doc Wordinger profile imageAUTHOR

        Doc Wordinger 

        3 years ago from Manchester, UK

        You're welcome Shane. If Kalms aren't working, perhaps you could try an alternative natural supplement such as St John's Wort?

      • Shane Ilagan profile image

        Shane M. Ilagan 

        3 years ago from Philippines

        My doctor told me to pause exercising because of my knee pain. I can simply meditate and take a supplement for my anxiety. Thanks for the info about the tablets although it's not working.

      • Doc Wordinger profile imageAUTHOR

        Doc Wordinger 

        3 years ago from Manchester, UK

        Words of wisdom Perspycacious. My day often gets off to a bad start when I can't find my keys and I should have left the house ten minutes ago! Sometimes we just need to make a few small changes to our routine.

      • Perspycacious profile image

        Demas W Jasper 

        3 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

        Fine Hub. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. Getting organized is one very good stress reliever. The keys are hung in the same place, the glasses in the same basket or drawer, etc. Eliminating needless stress is a good starting point.

      • Doc Wordinger profile imageAUTHOR

        Doc Wordinger 

        3 years ago from Manchester, UK

        Thanks for sharing Money Jee. Have Kalms helped you experience better quality sleep?

      • Money Jee profile image

        Money Jee 

        3 years ago from Worldwide

        I believe they only work for sleep

      • Doc Wordinger profile imageAUTHOR

        Doc Wordinger 

        3 years ago from Manchester, UK

        Hi Olivia. Did you use Kalms Night? For the benefit of readers who aren't familiar with the Kalms range, 'Night' is sold as an aid to natural sleep and is a slightly different product to the herbal stress tablets reviewed in this article.

      • Doc Wordinger profile imageAUTHOR

        Doc Wordinger 

        3 years ago from Manchester, UK

        Hi Suzanne, thank you for your comment and good luck curing your insomnia.

      • olivia willow profile image

        Olivia 

        3 years ago from UK

        Very interesting point of view! As far I am concerned, I used Kalm twice unfortunately it did not really work for me. I stayed awake for the whole night!

      • Suzanne Sullivan profile image

        Suzanne Sullivan 

        3 years ago from New Jersey

        I would have enjoyed this even if I wasn't interested in the topic. I have never heard of Kalms before but have heard of the ingredients. We have need of such things here in our house. Melatonin has proved a mild improvement for our collective insomnia. It is good enough to keep us out of the pharmacy. I will be looking into Kalms for sure and/or it's ingredients. Thank you very much

      • Doc Wordinger profile imageAUTHOR

        Doc Wordinger 

        3 years ago from Manchester, UK

        Let us know if they work, Cassandra.

      • Doc Wordinger profile imageAUTHOR

        Doc Wordinger 

        3 years ago from Manchester, UK

        Valerian has never seemed to calm me either, SheGetsCreative. Which herbal remedies and essential oils do you use?

      • Doc Wordinger profile imageAUTHOR

        Doc Wordinger 

        3 years ago from Manchester, UK

        Thanks Betty

      • CassandraCae profile image

        Cassandra Kuthy 

        4 years ago from Ohio

        I might give these a try.

      • SheGetsCreative profile image

        Angela F 

        4 years ago from Seattle, WA

        Comprehensive review. Valerian root doesn't seem to "calm me" but other herbal remedies and essential oils do. Good luck with your search to find the one that's effective for you.

      • bettyshares profile image

        bettyshares 

        4 years ago from Lighthearted Musings

        Thanks for the review this is interesting.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, remedygrove.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://remedygrove.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)